For the second time in just a few days, Tiverton Golf Club hosted a DevonGolf event. This time it was the Palairet Plate. Entries for the Palairet Plate are from the clubs who entered the Palairet Memorial Trophy and were knocked out in the first two rounds.

Each club nominates 3 pairs to play Foursomes Stableford and the winning club is the one with the best aggregate score. The winning team is awarded the Palairet Plate.

Huge thanks to Tiverton Golf Club's Peter Barnes for starting both DevonGolf competitions this week, to John and his hospitality staff who look after us so well and the members who gave up their course for these prestigious county competitions.

The Tiverton course looked magnificent, as fine as could be. However, playing off the black tees proved to be tricky for many as balls disappeared into the trees and many provisionals were played. First out were Exeter's Chris Haggar & Andrew Phillips (5), Rodin Mackay & Darren Bingham (5) and Alistair Ross & Paul Champion (7) scoring a total of 95 stableford points. Playing alongside them were Teignmouth's Lee Wilson & Will Tottle (3), Nick James & Dave Hunt (3) and James Mayne & John Jackson (6) and they scored 94 points. 

There was quite a wait for the next score in the 90s and Holsworthy's John Bewes & Ian Kirby (13), Paddy Ford & Trevor Abbott (10) and Ian French & Edward Roberts (13) came in with the winning score of 99 points.

For all individual scores click here

For all team scores click here

      A victorious Holswothy Golf Club
Ian Kirby, Edward Roberts, Ian French Trevor Abbott, Paddy Ford & John Bewes


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.