DevonGolf received a wonderful welcome from Stover Golf Club for the Division 1 and Division 2 Women's County Prize Finals, an 18 hole Stableford competition. 28 Devon clubs were represented and made a colourful sight on the course in their club colours.

Qualification for this event is the best players in each division returning the best four cards from any number of Stableford competitions at their Home Club throughout the year. Division 1 players are maximum HI 23.4 and Division 2 players HI 23.5 - 54.0. Division 1 and Division 2 were formerly known as Silver and Bronze respectively.

As Covid ravaged most sporting fixtures throughout 2020, the players today were the winners from 2019 so Division 1 was the former Silver Division with handicaps of 0 to 20, Division 2 was the former Bronze Division with handicaps from 21-45. Should players reduce their handicap to a lower division between qualifying and the final, they play in their qualifying division but off their new handicap.

The weather was a little chilly but the sun did its' best to shine and there was a lot of roll on the ball as we sit out one of the driest April's on record. Starters Sue Steward and Sophie sent the ladies on their way with the now familiar Covid words ringing in their ears which boils down to, "Don't touch anything!"

Although there wasn't a Twos competition, Marcia Collett (10 - Okehampton) and Sarah Lockwood (13 - Tiverton) must have taken some pleasure in scoring the only 2s of the day, Marcia on the 7th and Sarah on the 2nd hole.

The course wasn't easy to play and the ladies were finding the back 9 harder than the front. But all was conducted with good grace and even the lower scores were given verbally to DevonGolf Competitions Secretary Colleen Skornia with good grace.

Thank you to Stover Golf Club and Lady Captain Lesley Pascoe and Lady Vice Captain Alison Arnold and the clubhouse and greens staff for their support.


  Division 1 Points Division 2 Points
1st Ying Wong (19 - Downes Credition) 37 Irene Gover (34 - High Bullen) 38
2nd Dawn Cottam (17 - Torquay) 35 Elaine Bond (28 - Saunton) 36
3rd Amanda Burchell (6 - Bigbury) 34 Shirley Stunnell (25 - Downes Crediton) 35
4th Maggie Wayte (18- Exeter) 32 Sue Warren (27 - Bigbury) 33




Division 1 Winner
Ying Wong - Downes Crediton
Division 2 Winner
Irene Gover - High Bullen


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.