Western Morning News (S&W) Rose Bowl - 13th August 2018 at Teign Valley Golf Club

The Western Morning News Rose Bowl (S & W)

It was a lovely day at Teign Valley Golf Club after the heavy rain the weekend before. There was a little rain late morning but by the afternoon all had dried out and it was positively hot. Teign Valley’s Lady Captain Serena Skinner was the early Starter for the large field of ladies at 9am and County Captain, Chris Longden took over through to 2.30pm. 64 ladies’ pairs, proudly wearing their club colours, eagerly turned up to play foursomes golf. They were competing for the Western Morning News Rose Bowl which had been presented by The Western Morning News to the County in 1984.

The early golfers were soon reappearing in the club house after just 3½ hours, just as the last ones were booking in prior to their round. The kitchen and bar were soon very busy as refreshment was in high demand and greatly enjoyed at leisure whilst sitting in the patio area in the glorious sunshine, reminiscing about what could have been!

It was after 6pm before the final groupings came in and everyone was eagerly awaiting the results of the day’s travails. The waiting was soon over, the numbers had been entered and checked so prize-giving could start. Serena opened with welcoming words for everyone and it was then over to County Captain Chris to present the prizes. The winning club and WMN Rose Bowl holders for the year is that whose teams have the best 2 Foursomes scores from 3 nominated pairs. 

Our heart-felt thanks to all the members and staff at Teign Valley Golf Club for their wonderful help and support. We had a great day.

Kate Field
County Competitions Secretary


Western Morning News Rose Bowl Winners - TAVISTOCK  -  72pts
Donna Cann & Lyn Swift
Fran Horton & Belinda McSherry
Bev Ruth & Nicky Gawman


1st Tavistock Fran Horton & Belinda McSherry 39 points
2nd Stover Olga Lidbury & Teresa Metters 39 points
3rd Dartmouth Jan Cousins & Alison White 38 points
4th Boringdon Park Beckie Dyer & Melanie Jasinskj 36 points
5th Torquay Maxine Adams & Caroline Craig 35 points
6th Boringdon Park Deryn Elford & Catherine Griffiths 35 points
7th Wrangaton Diane Clasby & Marion Seward 35 points
8th Teignmouth Lorraine Dunn & Anne Holt 34 points
9th Bovey Tracey Sheelah Ayliffe & Tracey Crooks 34 points


Wrangaton Jane Cooke & Valerie Holman 34 points
11th  Bigbury Maggie Best & Jane Wain 34 points
12th Dainton Park Rebekah Nicholls & Geraldine Sedgbeer 33 points
13th Tavistock Nicky Gawman & Bev Ruth 33 points
14th Staddon Heights Lesley Brooks & Gill Whitelock 33 points
15th Stover Angie Hickey & Lesley Pascoe 33 points
16th Wrangaton Kim Flook & Wendy Roberts 33 points
17th Stover Gill Lang & Elizabeth Payne 33 points


For a full list of results click here 


3rd Hole Olga Lidbury & Teresa Metters Stover
3rd Hole Jane Cooke & Valerie Holman Wrangaton
5th Hole Linda Bradley & Elizabeth Emmerson Boringdon Park
5th Hole Rebekah Nicholls & Geraldine Sedgbeer  Dainton Park 
10th Hole Julie Bacon & Cheryl Waterfield  Boringdon Park 
10th Hole Kim Flook & Wendy Roberts  Wrangaton 
10th Hole Rebekah Nicholls & Geraldine Sedgbeer Dainton Park
17th Hole Donna Cane & Lyn Swift  Tavistock






Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.